Close Menu

The Paul and Elizabeth Montle Prize for Entrepreneurial Achievement

Do you have entrepreneurial passion? Are you inspired to identify and solve problems? Do you have the entrepreneurial skills to succeed?

If so, the Montle Prize for Entrepreneurial Achievement is just right for you.

Paul Montle (Class of 1969) created the Montle Prize for Entrepreneurial Achievement to commend outstanding Tufts students who demonstrate entrepreneurial skills. An annual competition, the award helps kick-start future leaders in the business and nonprofit world. 

This award is intended for undergraduate students with entrepreneurial mindsets and knowledge of entrepreneurship. This knowledge could be gained by participating in entrepreneurship courses, co-curricular events, competitions, and/or from experience working either individually or in a team on a startup or new venture.

Winners are eligible to receive cash prizes of up to $15,000. Many winners go on to compete for the $100k New Ventures Competition later in the academic year.

Recipients of the Montle Prize accept a future commitment to give back to Tufts University.



Senior Award - $15,000

This award is specifically for a senior who has shown strong personal growth in their entrepreneurial mindset and skillset since freshman year.

Most Progress in a New Venture - $10,000

This award is specifically for an individual who has shown strong progress in an entrepreneurial startup or new venture.

Best Demonstration of Grit - $10,000

Influenced by the book “Grit-The Power and Passion of Perseverance” by Angela Lee Duckworth, this award is specifically for an entrepreneur who has shown grit.

Eligibility Requirements

  • The applicant must be a current Tufts University undergraduate.
  • Each application is for an individual, not a team.
  • The individual is not required to be part of a start-up team or currently working on a venture to apply.
  • Individuals are not eligible if they have previously won the Montle Prize.


2020 Winners

2019 Winners

2018 Winners

2017 Winners

2016 Winners

2015 Winners