Montle Prize 2022 Award Winners (from left): Theo Henry, Paloma Velasco, Artem Dinh

Recipients of 2022 Montle Prize Announced

The Paul and Elizabeth Montle Prize for Entrepreneurial Achievement is awarded to three students who demonstrate outstanding entrepreneurial skills each year.

The Derby Entrepreneurship Center at Tufts (DEC) awarded three undergraduate students the Paul and Elizabeth Montle Prize for Entrepreneurial Achievement in recognition of their outstanding entrepreneurial passion, knowledge, and skills.

The annual prize includes three monetary awards: “The Senior Award” ($15,000), “Most Progress in a New Venture” ($10,000), and “Best Demonstration of Grit” ($10,000). “The Senior Award” recognizes a graduating student who has shown strong personal growth in their entrepreneurial mindset and skillset since their freshman year, while the “Most Progress in a New Venture” and “Best Demonstration of Grit” awards recognize a commitment to progress in an entrepreneurial venture and overall entrepreneurial grit respectively.

This year’s winners are as follows:

  • “The Senior Award” ($15,000) – Theo Henry, E23
  • “Most Progress in a New Venture” ($10,000) – Artem Dinh, E23
  • “Best Demonstration of Grit ($10,000) – Paloma Velasco, A23
The Paul & Elizabeth Montle Prize for Entrepreneurial Achievement. Congratulations to the 2022 winners! Senior Award: Theo Henry, E23; Most Progress in a New Venture: Artem Dinh, E23; Best Demonstration of Grit: Paloma Velasco, A23

“We would like to extend our warmest congratulations to Theo, Artem and Paloma,” said Elaine Chen, Director, Derby Entrepreneurship Center at Tufts, and Cummings Family Professor of the Practice in Entrepreneurship. “Each of them put idea into action, applying an entrepreneurial mindset and skillset and demonstrating tremendous commitment to their respective causes. Their passion and achievements are inspirational.”

The Montle Prize for Entrepreneurial Achievement was established by the late Paul Montle, an alumnus of Tufts University’s Class of 1969, to support students as they become leaders in business and nonprofit sectors. The honor celebrates innovative thinking and expertise gained through entrepreneurship courses, co-curricular events, competitions, and working in a startup.

Recipients of the Montle Prize accept a future commitment to give back to Tufts University, with many going on to compete in the $100k New Ventures Competition.

Moderated by Elaine Chen, this year’s selection committee included:

  • Kevin Oye, Executive Director, Tufts Gordon Institute; Director, MS in Innovation & Management Program; Professor of the Practice
  • Diane Ryan, Associate Dean for Programs and Administration, Jonathan M. Tisch College of Civic Life at Tufts University
  • Christopher Swan, Associate Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering, Dean of Undergraduate Education, Tufts University School of Engineering

To learn more about The Paul and Elizabeth Montle Prize for Entrepreneurial Achievement, visit: